Cooperation with economic organizations

  • Created 01.10.2012 11:12
  • Updated 03.05.2018 09:35
  • Published 01.10.2012 11:12

Organization of Islamic Cooperation


General Information. Organization of Islamic Conference (now-Organization of Islamic Cooperation - OIC) was established at the Summit of the Heads of States and Governmets of the Muslim countries in Morocco in September of 1969. The OIC closely collaborates with UN, and has got a observer status under the UN from 1975.

Member States. Afghanistan, Albania, Azerbaijan, Aljazeera, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Brunei, Burkina-Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Cote Devour, Ghana, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libyan, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambican, Niger, previous, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Yemen.

Object. The main purposes of the organization is strengthenening islamic solidarity among member-states, supporting coorporation on science, culture, social, economic and other areas, implementing consultations in other international organizations, promoting cancelation of racial discrimination and any form of colonization, ensuring safety and international peace on the basis of justice, guarantying inviolability and liberation of occupied holy territories, supporting the struggle on liberating of territories and restoration of Palestinian people's rights, collaboration of member states with other countries and creation of mutual understanding conditions.

Cooperation with Azerbaijan. After the restoration of its independence Azerbaijan is the first country from other former Soviet republics that applied to be a member of OIC, and became a member in 1991. OIC condemned the Armenian aggression to Azerbaijan and approved resolutions related to the interest of Azerbaijan in either the Summit Conferences or Foreign Ministers' Conferences. Number of Resolutions on Economic Assistance to the Republic of Azerbaijan was affirmed within the framework of OIC for the purposes of providing a necessary aid to our country. The 33th Foreign Ministers' Conference of organization was held in Baku. The 35th assembly of Directors' Council of Islamic Development Bank of OIC was held in Baku as well in 2010.

On November 21-24, 2016 32nd Session of COMCEC on "Development of Islamic Financing Strategy in ECO Member States" was held in Istanbul, Turkey. Delegation was led by the Deputy Minister of Economy.

← Back