Cooperation with economic organizations

  • Created 12.05.2017 09:21
  • Updated 03.05.2018 13:05
  • Published 12.05.2017 09:21

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)


General information about information: Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), established by a treaty on "establishment of the Commonwealth of Independent States" signed on Dec. 8, 1991 by Belarus Soviet Socialist Republic, Russian SFSR and Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic. The document consisting of preamble and 14 articles declared the cancelation of USSR as a subject of international law and geopolitical reality. However, the parties have agreed on establishment of the Commonwealth of Independent States by considering the historical unity of the nations, relations among them, bilateral agreements. On 21 December 1991, Alma-Ata declaration was signed by the heads of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine. Declaration notes the creation of CISs by cancelation of USSR, as well as, reflects the purposes and principles of CIS. Organizational stage was completed with the adoption of Commonwealth of Independent States' Regulation as a main document of the organization in Minsk on January 22, 1993.
Member states. Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Russia, Moldova, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia, Ukraine.

Objection. The cooperation is aimed to define the direction of economic integration among member states within the framework of organization created in order to preserve and protect the interstate relations between the countries of the former Soviet Union.

Cooperation with Azerbaijan. The Republic of Azerbaijan created free trade regime with a number of CIS countries (except Armenia), legal basis was designed for the independent investment. The Agreement on Free trade zone was signed within the framework of CIS in last year. Currently, Azerbaijan negotiates on accession to the agreement. Moreover, the project for the Actions Plan on implementation of II stage of CIS's economic development strategy for the period till 2020 (2012-2015) were prepared and affirmed by the 18 October, 2011 dated Decision of Heads of Government Council of CIS.
The businessmen functioned in various areas In Azerbaijan beside the officials of the CISs' members took part at the Interstate Exhibition dedicated to 20 years anniversary of Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) in June 28 - July 3 of 2011 at Moscow "All-Russia Exhibition Centre".
More than 250 kinds of products of near to 40 of Azerbaijani companies' were demonstrated at the exhibition. Stands about industry, agriculture, fuel and energy, information technology, culture, tourism and other areas were demonstrated at Azerbaijan's national pavilion.
The next meeting of the CIS's Economic Council and International Economical Forum of the CIS member states held on March 20, 2012 in Moscow.
The next sitting of the Council of the CIS Heads of Government was held in Yalta on September 28, 2012. The delegation headed by First Deputy Prime Minister Yaqub Eyyubov represented the Republic of Azerbaijan in the sitting of the Council of the CIS Heads of Government. The Deputy Minister of Economic Development Niyazi Safarov also joined the delegation.
On 5 December 2012, the next meeting of the CIS Council of Heads of State was held in Ashgabat. At the meeting, the Republic of Azerbaijan was represented by a delegation led by Prime Minister Artur Rasizade.
On March 15, 2013, the 57th meeting of the CIS Economic Council was held and the Republic of Azerbaijan was represented by the delegation headed by First Deputy Prime Minister Yaqub Eyyubov.

The next meeting of the Committee on Economic Affairs under the CIS Economic Council was held in Moscow on June 26, 2013.
The traditional International Investment Forum on "Yalta business meetings" within the framework of the Organization was held "Yalta business meetings" in Moscow on 4-6 July, 2013.

← Back