Organization for Democracy and Economic Development

General information. GUAM is the regional organization founded by Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine on 10th of October 1997 during the Summit of the Council of Europe.

Member States. Azerbaijan, Georgia, Ukraine, Moldova.

Objectives. Main objectives of GUAM are strengthening democratic values, ensuring the supremacy of law and respect for human rights, ensuring sustainable development, strengthening international and regional security and stability, deepening European integration for the creation of a common security space and the enlargement of economic and humanitarian cooperation; developing of socio-economic, transport, energy, scientific, technical and humanitarian potential; stimulating of political interaction and practical cooperation in fields of mutual interest.

Cooperation with Azerbaijan. Azerbaijan chaired the organization in 2007, 2012, 2016 and 2020. Besides, Azerbaijan coordinated in the Working Groups on transport (2011-2012, 2019-2020), IT (2011-2012, 2015-2016), culture and tourism (2013-2014), energy (2011-2018).

Representative of Ministry of Economy participated on GUAM’s Working Group on Economy and Trade, which took place on 17-18 November 2016 in Kyiv.

During the meeting of Heads of Governments on 27 March 2017, the Protocol on establishment and activity of the Working Body coordinating the actions of the Parties of the Agreement on Establishment of Free Trade Area of 20 July 2002 was signed. The abovementioned protocol was approved by the relevant Order of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan.

In 2018, the meetings of the Working Body coordinating the actions of the Parties of the Agreement on Establishment of Free Trade Area were held and the representatives of the Ministry of Economy participated in those meetings.

The representative of the Ministry of Economy, as well as representatives of the “Consumer Goods Expertise Center” LLC also attended the next meeting of Working Body held on 10-11 September 2019.

“Protocol on the Rules for Determining the Country of Origin of the Goods of the Agreement on the Establishment of a Free Trade Zone between the GUUAM Member States” was signed by the Minister of Foreign Affairs during the 39th meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers held on September 20-22 within the framework of the 77th session of the UN General Assembly in New York